Settling in with an iPad and Good Butta!

It’s starting to get a bit stressful out here. There’s a lot of biking, and a lot of talking, which I am still not accustomed to. Introverts have it rough out here in the field. I’m still buying off-brand bread and cereal, but I got some good butter this week, and I’m now allowed to use my iPad, so that’s been helpful. Or did I mention that before? And there are mosquito bites. All the time.

One of the most difficult things (besides talking to people) is remembering everyone’s names. I get paranoid about calling people I’ve just met the wrong name anyway, so that’s been no help. It’s going to be a challenge when I get moved to a new area and have to get to know a new ward.

Eating well

Speaking of the ward, I’ve met some more people, and I feel like less of a stranger now. I think I’m getting a bit better at teaching as well. My companion recommended that I spend the first few weeks studying only the Book of Mormon and Preach My Gospel. That’s been a bit difficult because I REALLY want to read Jesus the Christ and go through pretty much everything in the Gospel Library instead. It would be great to just be able to watch the Bible videos or something.

A lot of people here are Christian, but they think that all you have to do is “a’cept Him inta your heart,” and you’re good, so that makes it difficult. We do sometimes find some good potentials when we’re out tracting, though.

We had someone commit to baptism, but she has a hard time getting to church. Hopefully that works out.

I guess that’s about it for this week.

Leave a Reply

