“Sim-ply ha-a-vin’ a won-der-ful Christ-mas time…”

I’ve found Christmastime on the mission to be a lot more fulfilling than it was previously. Out here, you get to just ignore all the silliness and commercialization and concentrate on Christ and the importance of the family. Not that the spirit of giving is a bad thing, either…
One thing that’s been on my mind a lot lately is music. As I’ve ridden my bike over the past few months, I’ve found a lot of music from high school drifting back into my head, especially the spiritual songs we sang in choir. If anyone is in touch with Mr. Griffiths, please tell him that I said thank you, because music has brought me a lot of peace out here that I haven’t been able to find anywhere else. Sometimes I’ll be having a rough day, and that Celtic prayer we sang will drift into my head as I ride, and make the burden a little less burdensome. Even the stuff I learned from the brief time I spent in music theory class has brought me a lot closer to the music, and made it a deeper and more personal thing. It is unquestionably something that I want to keep a part of my life into the future, and I owe a lot of that to my experiences not only in choir, but in band and piano lessons. So I guess that’s a thank you to all of my music teachers!
Christmas Eve and Christmas Day are probably going to be pretty crazy. We’re going to visit as many people as we can. Just the regular holiday missionary stuff. Then again, Thanksgiving wasn’t as nuts as I thought it was going to be… We’ll just have to see.
Anyway, I guess that’s it for this week. I hope everyone has a happy Christmas.
Leave a Reply

